classification societies

(shipping) Classification societies are organizations that survey and classify ships, both during their construction and operation. They are the principal means by which standards of construction and maintenance are enforced, and ship certificates can be issued by Flag States.
In order to be registered a ship must be certified to be of a particular type and size and to be maintained to certain minimum standards. Classification societies are licensed by states (national governments) to undertake this work on their behalf. Most states do not insist that ships be “classed.” However, without a “class” there would be considerable difficulties in operating a ship, as “class” is generally a requirement of most insurance companies and shippers using the vessel.
The principal classification societies are:
American Bureau of Shipping (U.S.) (ABS)
Bureau Veritas (France) (BV)
China Classification Society (CCS)
China Classification Society (CCS)
Det Norske Veritas (Norway) (DNV)
Germanischer Lloyd (Germany) (GL)
Hellenic Register of Shipping (Greece) (HRS)
Indian Register of Shipping (India) (IRS)
Korean Register of Shipping (Korea) (KRS)
Lloyd’s Register of Shipping (UK) (LR)
Nippon Kaiji Kyokai (Japan) Class NK
Polski Rejestr Statkow (Poland) (PRS)
Registro Italiano Navale (Italy) (RINA)

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support