1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Dictionary of International Trade
  4. Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

(Formerly, the Preferential Trade Agreement for Eastern and Southern Africa – PTA). The PTA was founded in 1981 in order to improve commercial and economic cooperation in Eastern and Southern Africa; transform the structure of national economies in the region; promote regional trade; support inter-country cooperation, cooperation in agricultural development, and improvement of transport links. Accomplishments include: tariff reductions, multilateral trade, common travellers checks, a federation of chambers of commerce, a federation of commercial banks, and a commercial Arbitration board.
The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) was formed by members of the PTA in 1995. COMESA has established a customs union that aims to abolish all tariff and non-tariff barriers among member states.
COMESA’s members are: Angola, Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of The Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe,. Contact: COMESA; PO Box 30051; COMESA Centre; Ben Bella Road; Lusaka 10101, Zambia; Tel: [260] (1) 229726; Fax: [260] (1) 225107; Web: www.mbendi.co.za/orgs/co4s.htm.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support