1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Dictionary of International Trade
  4. Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

An association of 11 republics of the former Soviet Union established in December 1991. The members include: Russia, Ukraine, Belarus (formerly Byelorussia), Moldova (formerly Moldavia), Armenia, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, and Kyrgyzstan (formerly Kirghiziya). Georgia is presently an “observer”; the Baltic states did not join.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support