Industry Consultations Program


An advisory committee structure created by the Trade Act of 1974, expanded by the Trade Agreements Act of 1979, and amended by the Omnibus Trade and Competitiveness Act of 1988. Jointly sponsored by the U.S. Department of Commerce and the U.S. Trade Representative, the program includes over 500 industry executives who provide advice and information to the U.S. government on trade policy matters. The advisors focus on objectives and bargaining positions for multilateral trade negotiations, bilateral trade negotiations, and other trade-related matters. Members of the committees are appointed by the Secretary of Commerce and the U.S. Trade Representative.

The present structure consists of 17 Industry Sector Advisory Committees (ISACs), 3 Industry Functional Advisory Committees (IFACs), a Committee of Chairs, and an Industry Policy Advisory Committee (IPAC).

The focus of the 3 Functional Advisory Committees are:

  1. Customs Matters,
  2. Standards,
  3. Intellectual Property Rights.

The focus of the 17 Industry Sector Advisory Committees are:

  1. Aerospace Equipment,
  2. Capital Goods,
  3. Chemicals and Allied Products,
  4. Consumer Goods,
  5. Electronics and Instrumentation,
  6. Energy,
  7. Ferrous Ores and Metals,
  8. Footwear, Leather, and Leather Products,
  9. Building Products and Other Materials,
  10. Lumber and Wood Products,
  11. Nonferrous Ores and Metals,
  12. Paper and Paper Products,
  13. Services,
  14. Small and Minority Business,
  15. Textiles and Apparel,
  16. Transportation, Construction, and Agricultural Equipment,
  17. Wholesaling and Retailing.

See Advisory Committee on Trade Policy and Negotiations.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support