1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Dictionary of International Trade
  4. International Standards Organization (ISO)

International Standards Organization (ISO)

The ISO, established in 1947, is a worldwide federation of national bodies, representing approximately 157 member countries. The scope of the International Standards Organization covers standardization in all fields except electrical and electronic engineering standards, which are the responsibility of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). Together, the ISO and IEC form the specialized system for worldwide standardization–the world’s largest nongovernmental system for voluntary industrial and technical collaboration at the international level.
The result of ISO technical work is published in the form of International Standards. There are, for example, ISO standards for the quality grading of steel; for testing the strength of woven textiles; for storage of citrus fruits; for magnetic codes on credit cards; for automobile safety belts; and for ensuring the quality and performance of such diverse products as surgical implants, ski bindings, wire ropes, and photographic lenses.
ISO 9000 is a new series of voluntary international quality standards. Its formal name is ISO 9000 Series of Standards. Adoption of ISO standards has become a virtual prerequisite for doing business internationally. Contact: International Standards Organization; 1, ch. de la Voie-Creuse, PO Box 56; CH-1211 Geneva 20, Switzerland; Tel: [41] (22) 749-0111; Fax: [41] (22) 733-3430; Web: www.iso.ch. In the United States contact: International Organization for Standards; The American National Standards Institute; 1819 L Street, NW, 6th floor; Washington, DC 20036; Tel: [1] (202) 293-8020; Web: www.ansi.org.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support