1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Dictionary of International Trade
  4. Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

The OECD is the primary forum for the discussion of common economic and social issues confronting the U.S., Canada, Western Europe, Japan, Australia, and New Zealand. It was founded in 1960 as the successor to the Organization for European Economic Cooperation which oversaw European participation in the Marshall Plan. The OECD’s fundamental objective is “to achieve the highest sustainable economic growth and employment and a rising standard of living in member countries while maintaining financial stability and thus contribute to the world economy.” Members currently include: Australia, Austria, Belgium-Luxembourg, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Contact: Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development; 2 rue Andre Pascal; F-75775 Paris Cedex 16, France; Tel: [33] (1) 45-24-82-00; Web: www.oecd.org.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support