Organization of American States (OAS)

The OAS is a regional organization established in April 1948 which promotes Latin American economic and social development. Members include the United States, Mexico, and most Central American, South American, and Caribbean nations. Members include: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba (participation suspended), Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St. Christopher-Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, the United States, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Contact: Organization of American States; 17th Street and Constitution Avenue NW; Washington, DC 20006; Tel: [1] (202) 458-3000; Web:

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support