1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Dictionary of International Trade
  4. United States Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

United States Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

(U.S. Government) The DHS is a federal agency created under the Homeland Security Act of 2002 and mandated to protect the United States of America. The DHS coordinates and oversees the efforts of a variety of organizations working to protect U.S. infrastructure and points of entry, stop the flow of illegal drugs into the U.S., and prevent and respond to terrorist attacks on Americans.
The DHS is under the direction of the Secretary of Homeland Defense, who is nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate. The Secretary is responsible for ensuring that the many agencies within the Department are effectively working together, and for coordinating such efforts with the President and other federal agencies.
According to the Homeland Security Act of 2002, the primary mission of the Department is to (1) prevent terrorist attacks within the United States; (2) reduce the vulnerability of the United States to terrorism; and (3) minimize the damage, and assist in the recovery, from terrorist attacks that do occur within the United States.
The agencies that make up the Department are housed in one of four major directorates: Border and Transportation Security, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Science and Technology, and Information Analysis and Infrastructure Protection.
The Border and Transportation Security directorate brings together the following:
The U.S. Customs & Border Protection Bureau (formerly, the U.S. Customs Service of the Treasury Department)
The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Bureau (formerly, the Immigration and Naturalization Service of the Justice Department)
The U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement Bureau
The Transportation Security Administration
Federal Law Enforcement Training Center
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Office for Domestic Preparedness
The Emergency Preparedness and Response directorate brings together the following:
The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Strategic National Stockpile and the National Disaster Medical System (of Health and Human Services)
Nuclear Incident Response Team (of the Department of Energy)
Domestic Emergency Support Teams (of the Department of Justice)
National Domestic Preparedness Office (of the FBI)
The Science and Technology directorate brings together the following:
CBRN Countermeasures Programs (of the Department of Energy)
Environmental Measurements Laboratory (of the Department of Energy)
National BW Defense Analysis Center (of the Department of Defense)
Plum Island Animal Disease Center (of the Department of Agriculture)
The Information Analysis and Infrastructure Protection directorate will analyze intelligence and information from other agencies (including the CIA, FBI, DIA and NSA) involving threats to homeland security and evaluate vulnerabilities in the nation’s infrastructure. It will bring together:
Critical Infrastructure Assurance Office (of the Department of Commerce)
Federal Computer Incident Response Center
National Communications System (of the Department of Defense)
National Infrastructure Protection Center (of the FBI)
Energy Security and Assurance Program (of the Department of Energy)
The Secret Service and the Coast Guard are also located in the Department of Homeland Security, remaining intact and reporting directly to the Secretary.
Contact: U.S. Department of Homeland Security; Washington, D.C. 20528; Tel: [1] (202) 282-8000; Web: www.dhs.gov.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support