1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Dictionary of International Trade
  4. United States Department of the Treasury

United States Department of the Treasury

(U.S. government) An executive department which performs four basic functions: formulating and recommending economic, financial, tax and fiscal policies; serving as financial agent for the U.S. government; enforcing the law; and manufacturing coins and currency. The International Affairs unit is responsible for Department activities in international monetary affairs, trade and investment policy, international debt strategy, and U.S. participation in international financial institutions. The Under Secretary of the International Affairs unit acts as the U.S. Group of Seven (G-7) Deputy. Organizations within the Department include the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms; the Bureau of Engraving and Printing; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Internal Revenue Service; the Office of Thrift Supervision; the U.S. Customs and Border Protection; the U.S. Mint; the U.S. Secret Service. Contact: United States Department of the Treasury; 1500 Pennsylvania Ave. NW; Washington, DC 20220 USA; Tel: [1] (202) 622-2000; Fax: [1] (202) 622-6415; Web: www.ustreas.gov. See Group of Seven (G-7); United States Customs Service; Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support