1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Dictionary of International Trade
  4. West African Economic and Monetary Union

West African Economic and Monetary Union

A regional alliance, WAMU (French: Union Monetaire Ouest Africaine, UEMOA) was created by treaty signed in May 1962. WAMU comprises seven French-speaking African countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo. Within WAMU, these countries share a common currency (CFA Franc) now freely convertible into the European Union Euro (i) at a fixed parity (under special arrangement with the French government), and a common Central Bank (BCEAO) responsible for the conduct of the Union’s monetary and credit policies. There is also a common regional development bank. Contact: Commission de l’UEMOA; Avenue du Professeur Joseph KI-ZERBO, 01 BP 543 Ouagadougou 01, Burkina Faso; Tel: [226] 50 31 88 73; Web: www.uemoa.int.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support