Zangger Committee

A committee that is comprised of 23 Nuclear Non Proliferation Treaty nuclear supplier nations and includes all nuclear weapons states except France and China. This particular committee was compiled to examine the guidelines and safeguards that were enacted by the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty and what items on the list need to be changed.  Based on interviews in the 1970’s, the countries of the Zangger Committee put together a “trigger list” of particular nuclear materials and equipment.  The transportation of any item on the list to a non-nuclear weapons state “triggers” the requirement of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) safeguards.  The members are obligated to treat all non-nuclear  weapons parties to the treaty the same. To not discredit the NPT, the Zangger countries cannot single out strict nuclear controls toward certain nations even if their credentials are questionable.  The NPT obligates them to help non-nuclear weapons states with peaceful atomic energy projects.

See International Atomic Energy Agency; Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support